Animated GIF

IMG_1819 IMG_1736

Marshall_GIF

This project introduced us to putting stationary imagery through animation. The class trip to the campus library yielded dozens of possible source photos for this project, but in the end I only went with two images.

These photos offered me two things I wanted for this project, a stool and a visually pleasing 1-point perspective example. I meshed the two together in my first ever GIF, which came out a bit generic and uninteresting. I had trouble scaling the stool in accordance with each frame. As I changed the size of the stool for one frame in an attempt to show it disappearing in the distance, it stayed the same size for each frame. However, I feel it still satisfies the project since the elements of a GIF are all present. My main goal was to get a close frame-by-frame animation, but a truly fluid task such as that would take a long period of time to obtain. Therefore, I sped up some of the latter movements of the stool toward the larger one. My direction for this project changed in an instant, as I focused on offering an idea of bonding of inanimate objects. I tried to give the baby stool some animal-like characteristics such as wandering around and pausing mid movement, but I chose to make the transition of the small stool to its larger counterpart one solid motion.

Leave a comment