Propaganda Project

propaganda-6soviet-space-program-propaganda-poster-24Image: A view of the abandoned city of Prypiat, near the Chernobyl nuclear power plant   A radioactive sign hangs on barbed wire outside a café in Pripyat.

For this project, we are creating our very own propaganda poster. I envision my project to incorporate elements from 1960s Russian propaganda and crossing them over with imagery from the Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster from 1986. Although Chernobyl is technically located in the Ukraine, at the time of the disaster this area was under direct jurisdiction from the Soviet Union. Therefore, I do not see any problems with crossing both of these elements together to form one composition.

I really enjoy 1960s Russian propaganda, mainly for the space race imagery which I’m fond of. I also like the look of Russian characters in general. Combining these elements with a bright Russian-red color yields a visually appealing poster. I really hope to emulate a Russian propaganda poster that looks like Cold War propaganda with a 1960s feel, but utilizing Chernobyl as the subject matter. Another idea that recently ruminated in my mind while writing this proposal was a theme park theme. In the first image of Chernobyl above, there is a desolate ferris wheel I could see myself adding other rusted, broken down roller coasters and rides. The whole composition would have an empty feel to it, but the text and other elements will reflect happiness and joy, inviting people to visit the Chernobyl theme park. I feel like this idea would also be comedic rather than the serious tone that most propaganda harnesses.

Leave a comment