Moving Images 5×5 Project Proposal

For this project our class first took a walk to the fashion building at KSU, Rockwell Hall. We walked through the historical timeline of a museum filled with a variation of different aspects of times from long ago. These aspects included a plethora of dresses, many examples of glass and chinaware, and a collection of very early bifocals. What was required for this field trip was 30 individual videos each lasting 10 seconds long. The aim of the project is to illustrate a narrative of these aspects to create a story, hence narrative. From walking through the museum and seeing a historical timeline of early inventions of travel, I began to put together what I wanted to achieve. I captured many posters and illustrations conveying early means of human travel. Since everything followed a timeline throughout the museum, I want to create a narrative of the protrusion of means of human travel into the modern age utilizing the Adobe Premier Elements program to combine my videos together. I haven’t given the addition of music much thought, however I think it would be fun to come up with a new riff on guitar to record and place it over the video. I am completely unfamiliar with this practice of creating movies, but I feel that my idea for the project should result in a strong narrative.

Leave a comment